Thứ Năm, 08/04/2021, 20:45 (GMT+7)

NA approves appointment of new Deputy PMs, ministers, cabinet members

ABO/NDO– The National Assembly (NA) on April 8 approved resolutions ratifying the Prime Minister’s proposals on the appointment of two Deputy Prime Ministers, 12 new ministers and Government members for the 2016-2021 tenure.
The procedure was conducted as part of the 14th National Assembly’s ongoing 11th session.
Le Minh Khai and Le Van Thanh officially became new Deputy PMs for the 2016-2021 tenure after a resolution was passed by the 14th legislature with “yes” votes from 455 out of 459 participating lawmakers, equivalent to 94.79% of the total number of NA deputies.

The 11th session, the last sitting of the 14th NA, is scheduled to wrap up latter on April 8.

Khai, born in 1964, is a member of the Party Central Committee in the 12th and 13th tenures, Secretary of the 13th-tenure Party Central Committee, and deputy to the 14th NA.
Thanh, born in 1962, is also a member of the Party Central Committee in the 12th and 13th tenures, and deputy to the 12th legislature.
At the working session, NA Chairman Vuong Dinh Hue said he believed that Khai and Thanh will make greater efforts to excellently fulfil tasks in their new posts assigned by the Party, State and people.
Appointment of 12 new ministers, Gov’t members approved
Also on April 8 morning, with the support of the majority of legislators, the NA adopted a resolution approving the Prime Minister’s proposal to appoint 12 new ministers and Government members for the 2016-2021 tenure.
Accordingly, Sen. Lt. Gen. Phan Van Giang, member of the Standing Board of the Central Military Commission, Chief of the General Staff of the Vietnam People’s Army and Deputy Minister of National Defence, was appointed Minister of National Defence.
Standing Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Bui Thanh Son; Deputy Minister of Home Affairs Pham Thi Thanh Tra; Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Le Minh Hoan; Deputy Minister of Construction Nguyen Thanh Nghi; and Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Nguyen Van Hung were also named leaders of their respective ministries.
Vice President and Secretary General of the Vietnam Fatherland Front Central Committee Hau A Lenh was assigned to serve as Minister and Chairman of the Committee for Ethnic Minority Affairs; Standing Vice Chairman of the Government Office Tran Van Son now Minister and Chairman of the Government Office; Auditor General of the State Audit Office Ho Duc Phoc now Minister of Finance; Director of the Vietnam National University, Hanoi Nguyen Kim Son now Minister of Education and Training; Vice Chairman of the Party Central Committee’s Communication and Education Commission Nguyen Hong Dien now Minister of Industry and Trade; and Secretary of the Nam Dinh provincial Party Committee and head of the NA deputies’ delegation of Nam Dinh Doan Hong Phong now Inspector General of the Government Inspectorate.
The resolution took effect upon the NA’s approval.

(Source: NDO)